Hausknecht-Halas - Austria
english language hungarian language german language


Facts and Figures

Official Name: Republic of Austria
Official Name (short): Austria
Capital: Vienna
Currency: Euro (EUR)
Language German
Population: 8.2 million
Geographical Coordinates: Latitude 47º 20'
Longitude 13º 20'
Area: 83,858 km˛


Austria is a landlocked, central European country with eight bordering countries: Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

Austria, a country with an abundance of natural beauty, spectacular mountain vistas, castles, cosmopolitan cities, the Danube River Valley, music festivals, and of course - world class Alpine skiing and resorts - and Austria paints a very pleasant picture, indeed.

Map of Austria

Short History

4th Century BC Celts live in what is now Austria
45 AD The Romans create the province of Noricum
4th Century AD Waves of tribesmen invade Austria
1156 The Holy Roman Emperor makes Austria a Duchy
1282 Albert of Hapsburg becomes Duke of Austria
1438 The Duke of Austria becomes Holy Roman Emperor
1529 The Turks besiege Vienna
1576-1612 Rudolf II persecutes Protestants
1683 The Turks besiege Vienna again
1740 Maria Theresa becomes Empress of Austria
1806 Napoleon dissolves the Holy Roman Empire
1815 Klemens Metternich becomes foreign minister
1848 A wave of revolutions washes across the Austrian Empire. Metternich resigns.
1866 Austria is defeated by Prussia
1914 The heir to the Austrian throne is assassinated
1918 The Austrian Empire disintegrates and the emperor resigns
1934 Dolfuss the Austrian chancellor is shot
1938 Germany absorbs Austria
1945 A provisional government is established in Austria
1955 Austria becomes independent again. Austria joins the UN.
1995 Austria joins the EU
1999 Austria joins the Euro